Monday, July 12, 2004

Taj Mahal Once Again is Placed One of the Seven New Wonders of World

Taj Mahal Once Again is Placed One of the Seven New Wonders of World. Rest are listed bellow for our readers. Just check out-

1. The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China, a memorable landmark, is the most popular tourist attraction in China. There were three main Chinese dynasties that contributed to the construction of the Great Wall: first, the Qin from 221-207 B.C., then the Han from 206 B.C – 220 A.D and the Ming from 1368-1644 A.D. Their common purpose was to stop the “barbaric” Huns in the North from invading the Chinese borders. The Great Wall length measures about 6,700 km long. Height wise, it is 4.5m to 9m. The existing Wall today was constructed by the Ming Dynasty over 600 years ago. During that time, the original wall was in ruins.

2. Petra Arabian Desert

Petra is a site in the Arabian desert, Jordan that was discovered by a Swiss explorer
called Johann Ludwig Burckhardt in 1812 Petra represents the ancient world’s heritage culture. It is now said to be one of the seventh wonder of the world and it belongs to the UNESCO world heritage site. Petra mainly is admired because of its picture perfect architecture, its complex structure, quality and the non mentionable mere size.

3. Taj Mahal in Agra

The Taj Mahal is a tomb situated in Agra, India. The Taj Mahal was built by the Mughal emperor, Shah Jahan in the memory of his beloved wife, Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is one of The Seven Wonders of the World and is said to be one of the finest art of the
Mughal architecture. The Taj became a part of the UNESCO, World heritage Site.

4. Chichen Itza in Yucatan Peninsula

Chichen was founded by the Mayan civilization in 400 AD and it is located in the north central, north of Yucatan Peninsula now called Mexico. Chichen has a history that is 1500 years old.

5. Colosseum of Rome

Colosseum is one of the greatest architecture ever built in the history of Rome. The Colosseum was originally known as the Flavian Amphitheatre and is the largest amphitheatre to have ever been built in the Roman Empire. Its construction began sometime between 70 and 72 AD and was completed in 80 AD when Titus was the ruling emperor. Christ The Redeemer Statue on

6. Corcovado Mountain

Christ the Redeemer is a statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The statue is 120 ft tall and has a weight of 635 tones. It is now a part of the new Seven Wonders of the World. It is located in the Corcovado Mountain which is at a peak of 700 meters i.e. 2,300 feet in the Tujuca forest National Park overlooking the city.

7. Machu Picchu in Peru

Machu Picchu is the pre Columbian, Inca empire site that is located almost 8,000 feet above the sea level. The site is located on a mountain ridge above the
valley of Urubamba in Peru. The city is also called the “lost city of
Incas”. Machu Picchu was built in 146 AD.


Post a Comment